Our leadership team directs and guides Doctors of BC staff, working alongside the Board of Directors to support the strategic direction of the association. They are responsible for:

  • Providing excellence in services that add value to BC’s doctors, residents, and medical students 
  • Creating and maintaining a supportive organization, 
  • Ensuring that Doctors of BC is a great place to work, and
  • Ensuring the organization is fiscally sound

To connect with members of our leadership team, e-mail us at communications@doctorsofbc.ca or call 1 800 665 2262.

Leadership Team

Allan Seckel, CEO

Allan was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Doctors of BC in October 2011. He began his career as a lawyer at Russell & DuMoulin, and was a partner of the merged firm of Fasken Martineau DuMoulin. In 2003, he started working for the provincial government as Deputy Attorney General, and later became the Deputy Minister to Premier Gordon Campbell and Head of the BC Public Service. In addition to a commerce and economics degree from SFU, Allan holds a Bachelor of Law from UVIC and a Master of Laws from Cambridge University. Allan serves on a number of boards, including Covenant House Vancouver and the TELUS Vancouver Community Board.

  • Marisa Adair, Vice President, Communications & Public Affairs 
  • Jim Aikman, Vice President, Economics
  • Dr Sam Bugis, Vice President, Physician Affairs & Specialist Practice 
  • Dr Andrew Clarke, Vice President, Physician Health & Executive Director, Physician Health Program
  • Dr Brenda Hefford, Vice President, Physician Affairs & Community Practice 
  • Linda Lemke, Vice President, Engagement and Quality Improvement
  • Sinden Luciuk, Vice President, Members' Products & Services
  • Paul Straszak, Chief Negotiator
  • Amanda Corcoran, Chief People & Technology Officer
  • Cathy Cordell, General Counsel
  • Margaret English, Director, Shared Care Committee
  • Alana Godin, Director, Community Practice & Quality
  • Rob Hulyk, Director, Physician Advocacy
  • Adrian Leung, Director, Specialist Services Committee
  • Tod MacPherson, Director, Negotiations
  • Cindy Myles, Director, Facility Physician Engagement
  • Carol Rimmer, Director, Technology & Operations
  • Sarah Vergis, Chief Financial Officer
  • Deborah Viccars, Director, Policy & Planning